Gertie

This is our cat, Gertie. Sadly she died this morning and when this photo was taken we already knew that the next trip to the vets, due in two hours from then, would be her last.

I’m already missing her and I think I’m going to be spending a lot of time looking over all the photos I’ve taken of her – as a late night companion she had to put up with a fair amount of experimentation (with flash, telephoto, long exposure and the like). Poor thing. I’m sure wherever she is now she’ll be happy not to have my camera poking into her face any more.

In fact one of the first things we did when we got Gertie – she was a rescue cat who arrived with us via Battersea Dogs & Cats Home – was pose her for a photograph with a stuffed pig (called Pig). The resulting shot of bewilderment and confusion found itself onto a mug. I may go and have a coffee from it in a moment. And reflect. I’m doing a lot of reflecting today.

You can admire Gertie (she always liked to be admired), large, here.

One thought on “Gertie”

  1. Hi, happened to chance upon this site by accident,and saw your post about your cat;I offer my condolences for your loss.I was drawn to her eyes in the picture;eyes that seemed to show that she knew her demise was near;but yet at the same time showed content and happiness from being with you two.She seems to be smiling,at least to me, and that makes me smile too.

    All the best,
    Chia Xun An

Leave a Reply

