Football and the computer: then and now

Then: 1982. This is what Football Manager looked like. I won Division One on level 7 and basically felt like I was king of the world. I wondered why people didn’t stop me and offer their congratulations when they saw me in the street.

And this is now: 2012. Live streaming of pretty much everything. This is the Europa League play off for the League of Wales. My boys are hoping to do the business over Airbus UK.

I’ve lamented elsewhere about how little sport there is now on mainstream TV (as opposed to its hijacking of the news and people pretending they’re watching). I can’t help but feel that with everything being so fractured there can’t actually be many more people watching this on the computer than there were to see JS United win Division 1 on the Spectrum in 1987.

Leave a Reply

